## NEW BRUNSWICK.

Hon. S. L. Tilley, Provincial Secretary. "J. M. Johnston, Attorney General. "P. Mitchell.

- " Charles Mitchell.
- " E. Chandler. " W. H. Steeves.
- " J. H. Gray.

## PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND.

Hon. Col. Grey, President of Council.
" E. Palmer, Attorney General.
" W. H. Pope, Provincial Secretary.
" G. Coles.
" T. H. Haviland
" E. Whalen.
" A. A. McDonald.

## NEWFOUNDLAND.

				Carter, Shea.	Speaker	House	of	Assembly.
--	--	--	--	------------------	---------	-------	----	-----------

55th.	Hon. Joseph Cauchon wrote a Pamphlet in favour of Confederation	1865
56th.	Union resolutions carried in Canadian Legislature in the Council by 45 to 15;	
	in Assembly by 91 to 33. The 91 who voted for union comprised 54 from	
	Upper Canada and 37 from Lower; 25 from Lower Canada and 8 from	
	Upper Canada composed the minority in the Legislative Assembly	1865
57th.	The Legislatures of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia referred the subject to	
	the Imperial Government	1866
58th.	the Imperial Government Delegates from all the Provinces-Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia,	
	in accordance with the terms of the resolutions passed by the Legislatures	
	of the Maritime Provinces, proceeded to England and organized in London.	
	with Sir John A. Macdonald as chairman	1866
59th.	with Sir John A. Macdonald as chairman Union Act, as framed by the Conference, passed by the Imperial Parliament	
	and received the Queen's assent. March	1867
60th.	and received the Queen's assent, March Royal Proclamation of the Union issued from Windsor Castle, May 22nd	1867
61st.	The Union proclaimed throughout the four Provinces which thus became the	
	Dominion of Canada, July 1st.	1867
62nd.	Imperial Order in Council issued transferring Rupert's Land and the North-	
	west Territories to the Dominion, the franchises of the Hudson's Bay Com-	
	pany being purchased by Canada for £300,000 (money consideration) and	
	other considerations	1870
63rd	Manitoba created a Province by Act of Canadian Parliament, 15th July	1870
64th.	British Columbia joined the Union, 20th July.	1871
65th.	British Columbia joined the Union, 20th July Fortifications and Military lands, excepting Halifax and Victoria, B.C.,	1011
00011	transferred by the Imperial Government to the Dominion Government, by	
	Order in Council	0-71-72
66th.	Prince Edward Island joined the Confederation, 1st July	1873
	North-west Territories made a government separate from Manitoba, October.	1876
	Islands of the Arctic Archipelago transferred to Canada by the Imperial	2010
	Government 1st Sentember	1880
69th	Government, 1st September. Boundaries between Ontario and Manitoba defined by decision of the judicial	1000
	Committee of the Privy Council of England	1884
70th.	North-west Territories given representation in Federal Parliament. Act	1886
71st.	North-west Territories given Elective Assembly. Act	1888
72nd	Northerly, westerly and easterly boundaries of Ontario defined by Imperial	1000
	Parliament.	1889
	(See Dominion Acts 1890).	2000
73rd.	Right of appeal from decision of the Supreme Court of North-west Territo-	
	ries to Her Majesty in Privy Council granted by Order in Council, 30th	
	July	1891
74th.	Right of appeal from decision of Court of Queen's Bench, Manitoba, to Her	
	Majesty in Privy Council, granted by Imperial Order in Council, 26th	
	November	1892
	(See Order in Council in Dominion Statute, 1894).	
	(See Order in Council in Dominion Statute, 1894).	

3